Thoughts

I started today with the thought ‘my life sucks’ and it stuck.

I woke up to the boys fighting. The dog peed on the carpet (did I mention we had a dog? His names Yoda) and then I noticed the dog also pooped in the boys room (argh. He’s only 10 weeks old though) Then the boys starting fighting again. Emma woke up cranky and clingy. Hubs got a phone call that his step mom has stage three cancer. Alex was almost late for school. I was behind on dishes. Laundry. The floors needed to be swept. Bills needed to be paid (pay day was today) and then when I went to walk to the store it started raining. My. Life. Sucks. It was a refrain going around and around and around.

And then. There’s always an and then. It happened. Something shifted. I remembered Nick snuggling in my bed this morning. Alex helping Nick with a video game. Alex and Nick cheering for Zoey when she used the potty. Emma squealing when Yoda licked her. Hubs wrapping his arms around me. Emma and Zoey playing dolls together. Nick showing Zoey how to play Mario kart. Alex showing off his writing. Nick reading. Zoey’s pride at peeing on the potty. The feeling of sticky fingers. Kisses and hugs. Messy smiles. The excitement because I brought them home a sucker. We have a roof over our head. Food. Clothes. Happy, healthy, smart amazing children. A puppy who fits in with out family. I have a husband who puts up with me on my worst days.

my life doesn’t suck. Some parts of it might. But i am so blessed. My life is freaking awesome.

One thought on “Thoughts

Leave a Reply

